Since even vinegars can be made from wheat it is prudent for the person who suffers from wheat allergy or intolerance to become savvy at ingredients that may have been derived from wheat. Soy and miso most likely have wheat in them. Look for terms such as durum or spelt in the ingredient list. With some vinegars being made from wheat it is necessary to look for vinegar in the ingredient list. Not many would consider ketchup to contain wheat, but ketchup does contain vinegar. The source of the vinegar would then need to be ascertained by the person suffering from wheat intolerance or allergy.
What Are Some Terms that May Indicate Wheat?
Whole grain, multi-grain, durum, spelt, wheat germ, malt, kamut, textured Vegetable Protein (TVP normally from soy but may contain wheat), semolina, vegetable starch, flour, hydrolyzed vegetable protein, soy sauce and miso.