Lactose free is only a viable for people with a lactose intolerance. For those with a dairy allergy or intolerance to another component of milk, this is certainly not a feasible option as it contains the same proteins as milks and is just as allergic for those with a dairy allergy.
Goat Milk and Other Ruminant Milk
Ruminant are other animals who chew cud and are cloven hoofed. Goat and sheep and other ruminant milk have similar proteins to cow’s milk and as such have a high degree of cross-reactivity. That means if you’re allergic to cow’s milk you’ll probably be allergic to other ruminant milks. These milks also contain lactose so if you’re lactose intolerant then you should avoid these also.
Soy Milk is the most widely available dairy-free milk alternative and can be found on shelves as well as next to milk in supermarkets. With the widespread competition between providers, it is also one of the most cost effective milk alternatives. It’s also high in protein and has a very distinct taste. Before pouring a huge bowl of cereal, be sure you like the taste. Also know that Soy is one of the top 8 food allergy and intolerances.
Almond is the most common but others are available. Nut milk is high in protein and useful for baking. The taste blends well with baked goods and coffee. The only drawback is that nuts are sometimes an allergen for those with nut allergies.
Rice milk is typically not allergenic, making it a good choice for those trying to provide allergen free foods for children. It’s not very useful for cooking and unless heavily fortified, does not provide much protein. Its best use is for cereal or as a beverage.
Hemp is a new addition to the milk alternatives and may be difficult to find in some places. It has more protein than rice milk but not as much as soy. It contains enough protein to cook some sauces.
Oat milk has a moderate amount of protein, making it more useful than rice milk for cooking. However, it’s still not a true replacement for cow’s milk in baking. Oat milk is fairly mild and nutty tasting, and is a natural match for hot cereals and many breakfast foods. Those with celiac disease or a gluten intolerance would want to avoid oat milk though.